The Nigeria Computer Society (NCS) has concluded plans to confer Honorary Fellowship on the Vice President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria Prof. Yemi Osinbajo and the Vice Chancellor of Obafemi Awolowo University, Prof Eyitope Ogunbodede.

The President of NCS, Prof. Adesola Aderounmu disclosed this at a press conference in Lagos last Friday, saying the award is being given to the two Professors for their dedication and exemplary service to Information Technology growth and development in Nigeria.

According to him, both Osinbajo and Ogunbodede have displayed leadership in their various endeavours to ensure ICT is given its rightful position as enabler and driver of the Nigerian economy.

“Osinbajo as the Vice President of Nigeria has contributed to ICT growth, especially in the areas of promoting tech startups in Nigeria and abroad. Also, Ogunbodede on his part has visibly turned Obafemi Awolowo University to an ICT hub, turning out tech savvy students cum startups” he said.

The awards will be given to them at the society’s 40th anniversary celebration and 2018 National Information Technology Merit Awards (NITMA), scheduled to hold later this month in Lagos.

Others to be recognized for the various roles in upholding the flag of NCS at various times during the 40th years journey are Past Presidents of NCS and CPN, Past Provosts of NCS, Past Registrar and Executive Secretary of CPN and NCS respectively.

The first registered member (MRN 00001) and the fortieth registered member (MRN 00040) and Corporate organizations that have been supportive of the activities of NCS during the years in different categories.

“The IT Personality Year Award also known as the NCS President’s award will acknowledge and celebrate individuals that have excelled in our tech sector during the year. In 2018, nominees for this most prestigious award are: Mr. Adebayo Atekoja – MD/CEO Power soft Integrated Solutions Limited, Adedoyin Odunfa – MD/CEO Digital Jewels Limited, Mr. Charles Emembolu – CEO Crestsage Limited, Mr. Peter Arogundade – Managing Director Sidmach Technologies and Mr. Tunde Badejo – MD/CEO Soft Alliance and Resources Limited,” the President stated.

Annually the Nigeria Computer Society recognizes, celebrates and rewards outstanding excellence and exceptional contributions in the Information Technology field through the unique national platform NITMA provides.

The focus as a society is progress for the sector in particular and for the nation as a whole. As the acknowledged professional authority facilitating the development of an inclusive, globally competitive, prosperous and knowledge-based Nigeria, NCS said it is committed to recognizing and rewarding outstanding hard work and excellence in accelerating IT development.

In choosing the awards, the key areas and issues affecting growth in the sector and society are addressed. For all awards, key criteria include IT specialisations, NCS standards and global best practices.


ITPulse is a wholly information technology communication (ICT) news website, with a special focus on the African continent. The website provides up-to-date biz-tech news, analysis and comprehensive and thorough insight into the continent's ICT terrain

Leave A Reply