Nigerian President, Muhammadu Buhari has replaced the Chairman Board of the Nigerian Communications Commission, Senator Olabiyi Durojaiyi with Prof. Adeolu Akande.

In a statement issued by his spokesman, Femi Adesina, Mr. Uche Onwude (South East) also replaced Senator Ifeanyi Ararume (South East) as Non-Executive Commissioner.

Meanwhile, the changes also affected other agencies under the Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy. They are the National Information Technology Development Agency (NITDA), Galaxy Backbone, Nigerian Postal Services (NIPOST) and the NigComSat.

At NITDA, Dr. Abubakar Sa’id replaces Prof. Adeolu Akande as Board Chairman, while Dr. Habibu Ahmed Imam (North West) replaces Dr. Lawal Bello Morik as board members. Dr. Mohammed Sa’idu Kumo was also appointed as Board Member.

Dr. Ismail Adebayo Adewusi replaces Barrister Bisi Adegbuyi at NIPOST as Post-Master-General, while Professor Muhammed Bello Abubakar took over from Architect Yusuf Kazaure, who was also appointed as NIgComSat board chairman as Galaxy Backbone CEO.

Kazaure replaced Chief Dr. George Nnadubem Moghalu at NigComsat.  Dr Najeem Salam replaces Hon. Samson Osagie as Executive Director, Marketing and Business Development, while Professor Abdu Ja’afaru Bambale replaces Kazeem Kolawole Raji as Executive Director, Technical Services and Hadi Mohammed replaces Mohammed Lema Abubakar as Executive Director, Administration.

The statement noted that the appointments were made to fast-track the targets and mandate of the Ministry of Communications and Digital Economy.


ITPulse is a wholly information technology communication (ICT) news website, with a special focus on the African continent. The website provides up-to-date biz-tech news, analysis and comprehensive and thorough insight into the continent's ICT terrain

Leave A Reply