The Cyber Security Experts Association of Nigeria (CSEAN) on Friday in Lagos rewarded ten individuals and organizations during the association’s maiden Cybersecurity Merit Awards 2022.

The ten awardees are Cyber startup of the year, which goes to Cyber Plural; Media House of the year – ChannelTV, State Government of the Year- Lagos State; MDA (Public Sector) of the year – Nigerian Communications Commission; Organisation (Private Sector) of the year – CyberSOC; University of the Year- Federal University of Technology, Minna; CSEAN Member of the Year – Rotimi Ajasan and Financial Institution of the year – Stanbic IBTC Bank.

Other awardees the association considers as special category awards are Rising Star of the year; Outstanding Individual of the year – Dr. Peter Obadare and Cybersecurity woman of the Year – Confidence Staveley.

Speaking during his welcome address, the President of CSEAN, Mr. Ade Shoyinka noted that the essence of the maiden, which is the first-ever award organized by the association is to shine the spotlight on some individuals and organisations the association considers to have done very well in the promotion of cybersecurity.

He argued that those to be honoured have singled themselves out as their activities have led to safer cyberspace in Nigeria.

“The reason we’re here today is to shine the spotlight on our nominees who have been outstanding in contributing to the development of cyber security. I would like to congratulate you all for your innovation, leadership and achievements and you deserve a round of applause,” he said.

While imploring the awardees to continue to work even harder in promoting the cybersecurity profession in Nigeria, the President stated that it is his sincere hope that the cybersecurity merit award will help to unite the cybersecurity ecosystem in the country.

Also speaking about the Cybersecurity Merit award is the Chairperson of the award planning committee, Oluwatoni Falade. According to her, the Cybersecurity Merit award recognizes and rewards outstanding individuals, organizations, institutions and states that demonstrate excellence, innovation and leadership within the cybersecurity industry.

“This Award is facilitated by the cybersecurity expert association of Nigeria tapping into the past experience of cybersecurity professionals around the world. So, achievements and generate an industry-wide recognition in every facet of information security, development and awareness in Nigeria,” she said.

She narrated that the notable events started months ago as a wishful idea, adding that the association adopted three approaches, which are nomination, nominees profiling and evaluation by a panel of 12 judges who did a wonderful job of reducing the nomination from 112 to the final ten.

Meanwhile, the Deputy British High Commissioner in Nigeria, Ben Llewelyn-jones in his remark assured of the UK’ government’s commitment to work with the Nigerian government in addressing cyber security issues across Nigeria.

Llewelyn-jones, who was represented at the Cybersecurity Merit Awards by the UK’s Head of Prosperity in Nigeria, Martha Bostock, noted that working with Nigeria will strengthen and make cyberspace free for all.

“We will continue to collaborate with the Nigerian government to have a safer cyberspace,” he assured.


ITPulse is a wholly information technology communication (ICT) news website, with a special focus on the African continent. The website provides up-to-date biz-tech news, analysis and comprehensive and thorough insight into the continent's ICT terrain

Leave A Reply